Marialy Rivas

Production Company: Fabula
Website: Website

Marialy Rivas is a Chilean filmmaker. Her award-winning work includes two feature films “Young & Wild” (2012) and “Princesita” (2017), and three short films, “Blokes”, “Melody” and “Desde Siempre”. Her work has played in various film festivals around the world including the official competition at Cannes with “Blokes” in 2010; Sundance 2012 where she won the World Cinema Screenwriting Award with “Young & Wild”. “Princesita” just premiered at TIFF and San Sebastian to great reviews. Her work has also played at Berlinale, San FranciscoFF, New YorkFF, HavanaFF,  and Stockholm among others. Her critically acclaimed work has earned awards around the world.

Rivas is a Sundance alumni and has attended two of their prestigious and exclusive programs: the Screenwriters Lab in 2012 and the Sundance Music and Sound Design Lab at Skywalker Sound in 2015. She has been awarded with various grants, including the one given by Sundance in 2014 through the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation to shoot “Melody,” a short film that was picked up by the NY Times for their Op Docs section.

She has also worked in advertising for 15 years in Chile and Europe for many brands like Coca Cola, Cerveza Cristal, Mahou and Falabella among others. In 2005 she was part of the three filmmakers on charge of the Presidential Campaign of the first female President of Chile: Michelle Bachellet. She was
also awarded by El Ojo de Iberoamerica as the Best Director of the Region in that same year.

Rivas works at Fabula, a Chilean production company owned by Juan de Dios Larraín and Pablo Larraín. They are known for working with promising and well-known Chilean directors and producers such as Pablo himself: triple Oscar® nominated “Jackie”, “El Club” (Berlin Silver Bear 2015) and “No” (Best Foreign Language Film Oscar® nomination 2013); Sebastian Lelio; “A Fantastic Woman” (Best Foreign Language Film Oscar® nomination 2018, Berlin Silver Bear for Best Screenplay 2017), and “Gloria” (Berlin Silver Bear for Best Actress 2014).